Little Earthquakes

Reading: Henry and June, by Anais Nin.

Listening: Little Earthquakes, by Tori Amos.
This is the second time I’ve read Henry and June. I first read it a few years ago, and it was like a little earthquake in my heart: it demolished the old weak structures, leaving space for new ideas and loves.

It has been lovely, picking up my worn copy, and reading over passages a younger me frantically underlined and commented about. For the most part, those are not the moments that speak to me now. Then, I read it, ultimately, for the love story between her and Henry. Now, I see this story is all about her own unfolding as a woman and writer, and trying to reconcile the two. This is an adventure story: Anais is out to discover what she can…about her self.

“I am finished with my self, with my sacrifices and my pity, with what chains me. I am going to make a new beginning. I want passion and pleasure and noise and drunkennes and all evil. But my past reveals itself inexorably, like a new tattoo mark. I must build a new shell, wear new costumes” (p. 142).

This entry was posted in Reading. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

