A Series of Unfortunate Events

Finished: Broken Glass Park, by Alina Bronsky.

After all of my great expectations, i’ve found myself disappointed and depressed by this story. At some point it just started to read like a list of unfortunate events, which all culminated into one possibly terrible decision: (spoiler alert!) Sascha throws some stuff in a bag and runs away. I was hoping for more redemption!! Instead I just have this sad feeling, based on what I’ve read of Sascha’s decisions thus far, that she’ll continue to follow her self-destructive impulses in Prague.

I’m crossing my fingers that over time, after cooling down, I’ll think more fondly of this very hyped book.
For now, I’m just pissed.

Bottom line: like so many contemporary novels, this might make a better movie.

This entry was posted in Reading. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

